Five Branches of Shareeah

Etiquettes Of Social Life

The Five Branches of the Sharee'ah

The Sharee'ah consists of following five branches or parts:

1.Aqaa'id (Beliefs): e.g. beliefs in the Oneness of Allah Ta'aala and the Risaalat (Prophethood) of Rasoolullaah sallallahu alayhi wasallam

2.A'maal (Righteous deeds): e.g. Salaat, Sawm.

3.Mu'aamalaat (Transactions, Contracts): e.g. trade and commerce.

4. Akhlaaq (Moral character): e.g. humility, generosity, etc.

5. Husn-e-Mu'aasharat (Beautified social conduct): i.e. good relationship with people, e.g. abstention from acts which cause others inconvenience, such as disturbing a person in his sleep.

Of the above five constitutional branches of Islaam, Muslims in general nowadays regard only two branches as being integral parts of the Deen. These are Aqaa’id (beliefs) and Ibaadaat (worship).

The other branches of the Deen get less attention in lectures and discourses. Specialy least mention  is made of Husn-e-Mu'aasharat (Beautified social conduct). Hence, this branch has been assigned to the limbo of oblivion both theoretically and practically.